The contenders have been announced for the 2017 RoNAs (Romantic Novel Awards) and the overall, most prestigious, award – The Goldsboro Books Romantic Novel of the Year Award. Prue Leith, restaurateur, caterer, journalist, broadcaster, cookery writer and author, will present the Romantic Novelists’ Association (RNA) Awards for 2017 during a glittering ceremony in the Gladstone Library, One Whitehall Place, London SW1 on 13th March.

The awards comprise seven categories – Contemporary Romantic Novel, Epic Romantic Novel, Historical Romantic Novel, Paranormal or Speculative Romantic Novel, Romantic Comedy Novel, the RoNA Rose Award (for shorter and category romance), and Young Adult Romantic Novel – with a range of authors shortlisted for each one. For the first time in the awards’ history the shortlist includes both traditionally and independently published authors.

The winners of the seven categories will be announced during the evening and those seven authors will then go forward to compete for the overall prize of The Goldsboro Books Romantic Novel of the Year Award. Prue Leith will then reveal the author whose book has won the RNA’s most prestigious and coveted award, along with a cheque for £5,000 (five thousand pounds).

Since its inception in 1960 the RNA has promoted excellence in romantic fiction and its Chairman, Eileen Ramsay, commented, “Romantic fiction appears in many guises and continues to dominate the best-seller lists. Our awards celebrate the many shades of romantic fiction, highlighting the wide appeal of the genre and some of the best examples from the last year.”

David Headley, Managing Director of Goldsboro Books, commented, “The romantic fiction genre continues to provide great enjoyment to readers across the world and this award celebrates its many different facets. Goldsboro Books is delighted to be sponsoring the awards for a second year, and bringing these wonderful books to readers’ attention.”

In previous years winners have included such well known and much loved names as Joanna Trollope, Freya North, Rosie Thomas, JoJo Moyes and Rosamunde Pilcher.

The 2017 RNA Awards will be announced and presented by Prue Leith on 13th March in the Gladstone Library, One Whitehall Place, 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ.  The event starts at 6.00 pm and the awards presentation will start at 6.45 pm and will take approximately 45 minutes.

The Category Shortlists

The Contemporary Romantic Novel category is for mainstream romantic novels set post-1960 and includes genres such as chick lit and romantic suspense.

  • Falling, Julie Cohen, Black Swan
  • The Glittering Art of Falling Apart, Ilana Fox, Orion
  • Dear Dad, Giselle Green, Yule Press
  • Summer at the Comfort Food Café, Debbie Johnson, HarperImpulse
  • The Sunshine and Biscotti Club, Jenny Oliver, HQ
  • A Family Holiday, Bella Osborne, HarperImpulse
  • The Second Love of My Life, Victoria Walters, Headline Review
  • We’ll Always Have Paris, Sue Watson, Sphere

The Epic Romantic Novel category contains serious issues or themes, including gritty, multi-generational stories.

  • Wedding Bells for Nurse Connie, Jean Fullerton, Orion
  • Little Girl Lost, Janet Gover, Choc Lit
  • The War Bride, Pamela Hart, Piatkus
  • Who We Were Before, Leah Mercer, Lake Union Publishing
  • The Judge’s Wife, Ann O’Loughlin, Black & White Publishing

The Historical Romantic Novel category is for novels set in a period before 1960.

  • Incognito, Caitlyn Callery, MuseItUp
  • London Calling, Helen Carey, Headline
  • It Was Only Ever You, Kate Kerrigan, Head of Zeus
  • The Reckless Love of an Heir, Jane Lark, HarperImpulse
  • Map of Stars, Catherine Law, Zaffre Publishing

The Paranormal or Speculative Romance Novel category is for romantic novels that include elements beyond the range of scientific explanation, whether paranormal, fantasy, science fiction, time slip or worlds that include ghosts, vampires or creatures of legend.

  • The Velvet Cloak of Moonlight, Christina Courtenay, Choc Lit
  • Max Seventeen, Kate Johnson, independently published
  • An Ordinary Gift, Jan Jones, independently published
  • Beloved Enemy, Hywela Lyn, The Wild Rose Press

The Romantic Comedy Novel is for consistently humorous or amusing novels.

  • Girl Having a Ball, Rhoda Baxter, Choc Lit
  • The Most Wonderful Time of the Year, Joanna Bolouri, Quercus
  • The Plumberry School of Comfort Food, Cathy Bramley, Corgi
  • Letters From Lighthouse Cottage, Ali McNamara, Sphere
  • Out of Practice, Penny Parkes, Simon & Schuster

The RoNA Rose Award recognises the best in category/series and shorter romance that focus on developing a love affair between the hero and heroine.

  • Billionaire, Boss … Bridegroom?, Kate Hardy, Mills & Boon Cherish
  • The Discerning Gentleman’s Guide, Virginia Heath, Mills & Boon Historical
  • Seven Nights With Her Ex, Louisa Heaton, Mills & Boon Medical Romance
  • Unlocking Her Boss’s Heart, Christy McKellen, Mills & Boon Cherish
  • Christmas in the Boss’s Castle, Scarlet Wilson, Mills & Boon Cherish

The Young Adult Romantic Novel features protagonists who are teenagers or young adults.

  • Love Song, Sophia Bennett, Chicken House
  • Lydia: The Wild Girl of Pride & Prejudice, Natasha Farrant, Chicken House
  • New England Dreams, Pia Fenton, independently published
  • Instructions for A Second-Hand Heart, Tamsyn Murray, Usborne Publishing
  • All About the Hype, Paige Toon, Simon & Schuster



Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


©2020 Romantic Novelists' Association | Privacy Statement


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?