• The 2013 RoNA Awards

    Judy Finnigan and Richard Madeley will announce the winners from a shortlist of thirty authors vying to be named the winner of their category in the Romantic Novel Awards (RoNA) 2013 presented by the Romantic Novelists’ Association. They will also reveal the winner of the RoNA Rose Award.  These announcements will be made on 26 February during a glittering reception in London.

    Each category winner will receive an elegant crystal trophy as a mark of their success. They then go forward to contest the RNA’s most coveted award, the Romantic Novel of the Year (RoNA), which will be announced on 16th May.

    The categories for which the 30 shortlisted authors are competing are:
    Contemporary Romantic Novel, Epic Romantic Novel, Historical Romantic Novel, Romantic Comedy Novel and Young Adult Romantic Novel.

    Additionally, shorter fiction authors – known as category/series and magazine serial authors – will learn who has won the RoNA Rose award. This award is not in contention for the Romantic Novel of the Year award.

    The shortlisted novels cover the whole spectrum of topics and subjects and readers can expect everything from rollicking romantic comedies, cheeky and bold heroines to highly charged historical drama and dangerous heart-throbs.

    Each novel submitted has been awarded a mark by a panel of three independent readers drawn from a list of around 100 volunteers. The readers, who are not members of the RNA, come from a variety of backgrounds and range in age from 20 to 85. They all have one thing in common, a passion for romantic novels.

    In previous years winners have included such well-known and much loved names as Philippa Gregory, Joanna Trollope, Freya North and Rosamunde Pilcher.

    For the past 50 years the RNA has set the benchmark in romantic fiction and current Chair, Annie Ashurst, who writes as Sara Craven, commented, “We exist to encourage good writing of romantic fiction in all its many guises. We’re delighted that so many publishers took the opportunity to put forward their authors for these prestigious awards. And we are extraordinarily proud of our shortlisted authors – they’re all winners in our book!”

    The Category Shortlists
    The Contemporary Romantic Novel category is for mainstream romantic novels set post-1960 and includes genres such as chick-lit, paranormal and romantic suspense. The shortlist, in alphabetical order by author name, is:

    Katie Fforde, Recipe for Love, Arrow
    Veronica Henry, The Long Weekend, Orion
    Mhairi McFarlane, You Had Me At Hello, Avon
    Monica McInerney, The House of Memories, Pan Macmillan
    Sue Moorcroft, Dream a Little Dream, Choc Lit
    Polly Williams, The Angel at No. 33, Headline

    The Epic Romantic Novel category contains serious issues or themes, including gritty, multi-generational stories. The shortlist is:

    Rowan Coleman, Dearest Rose, Arrow
    Dilly Court, The Lady’s Maid, Arrow
    Madeline Miller, The Song of Achilles, Bloomsbury
    Kate Morton, The Secret Keeper, Pan Macmillan
    Gill Paul, Women and Children First, Avon
    Liz Trenow, The Last Telegram, Avon

    The Historical Romantic Novel category is for novels set in a period before 1960. The shortlist is:

    Charlotte Betts, The Apothecary’s Daughter, Piatkus (Little Brown)
    Christina Courtenay, The Silent Touch of Shadows, Choc Lit
    Kate Furnivall, The White Pearl, Sphere (Little Brown)
    Pamela Hartshorne , Time’s Echo, Pan Macmillan
    Susanna Kearsley, The Rose Garden, Allison & Busby
    Mary Nichols, The Kirilov Star, Allison & Busby

    The Romantic Comedy Novel is for consistently humorous or amusing novels. The shortlist is:

    Jenny Colgan, Welcome to Rosie Hopkin’s Sweetshop of Dreams, Sphere (Little Brown)
    Victoria Connelly, The Runaway Actress, Avon
    Jane Costello, All the Single Ladies, Simon & Schuster UK
    Nicola Doherty, The Out of Office Girl, Headline
    Belinda Jones, Winter Wonderland, Hodder & Stoughton
    Jane Wenham-Jones, Prime Time, Accent Press Ltd.

    The Young Adult Romantic Novel features protagonists who are teenagers or young adults. The shortlist is:

    Jo Cotterill, Sweet Hearts: Model Behaviour, Red Fox (RHCP)
    Laura Jarratt, Skin Deep, Electric Monkey/Egmont
    Marie-Louise Jensen, The Girl in the Mask, OUP
    Victoria Lamb, Witchstruck, Corgi (RHCP)
    Sarra Manning, Adorkable, Atom (Little Brown)
    Susan Waggoner, Neptune’s Tears, Piccadilly Press

    The winners of each of the above categories form the overall shortlist for the Romantic Novel of the Year Award, which will be announced on 16th May.

    Also being presented on 26th February is the RoNA Rose Award, which recognises the best in category/series and shorter romance that focus on a developing love affair between the hero and heroine. The shortlist is:

    Fiona Harper, Always the Best Man, Harlequin Mills & Boon Riva
    Sarah Mallory, Beneath the Major’s Scars, Harlequin Historical
    Heidi Rice, The Good, the Bad and the Wild, Harlequin Mills & Boon Riva
    Carol Townend, Betrothed to the Barbarian, Harlequin Historical
    Scarlet Wilson, West Wing to Maternity Wing, Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical
    Scarlet Wilson, Her Christmas Eve Diamond, Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical

    Cover images for all of the above novels can be found at:

    Download a list of the books shortlisted for the 2013 Romantic Novelists’ Association Awards, the RoNAs. Take it to the bookstore or library and check them out.

    2013 RoNA Awards Reading List. (pdf)

    Download descriptions of the of the books shortlisted for the 2013 Romantic Novelists’ Association Awards, the RoNAs.

    2013 RoNA Awards Books. (pdf)

    A list of past winners can be found at https://www.romanticnovelistsassociation.org/index.php/awards



Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2018 Romantic Novelists' Association

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?