Romantic Novelists' Association

Katie Fforde Bursary Awarded

11 February 2019

The Katie Fforde Bursary for 2019 was awarded on 9th February to two joint recipients, Elaina James and Sue Mackender.

Elaina James

Elaina James, commented, ‘I am so proud and honoured to be selected by Katie Fforde as a recipient of her bursary. Knowing I have the support of Katie and all the fantastic people from the RNA is a wonderful feeling and I am incredibly grateful.’

Sue Mackender

Sue Mackender said, ‘I am incredibly honoured to be one of the recipients of the Katie Fforde Bursary. Katie is an inspiration to all new authors with her understanding of how tough the industry is, kind words, and support. The Katie Fforde Bursary has given me renewed energy and I am told the trophy has magic powers!’

In addition to the Katie Fforde Bursary, the RNA also offers bursaries for authors on lower incomes, and from groups currently under-represented within the RNA and wider publishing industry. Details of bursaries that are still available for 2019 can be found here.