Romantic Novelists' Association

Romantic Novel Award Winners 2020

2 March 2020

The winners for the prestigious 2020 Romantic Novel Awards were revealed tonight, and author Milly Johnson was presented with an Outstanding Achievement Award.

Writer and performer, Jenny Eclair

Writer and performer Jenny Eclair revealed the winners of each category and presented them with crystal trophies at an event in London, compèred by author and broadcaster Jane Wenham-Jones.

RNA Chair Alison May said, “The quality of the shortlists for the awards this year was breathtaking, and the winning novels demonstrate the breadth and strength of romantic fiction.”



The winners, with awards host, Jane Wenham-Jones, guest presenter, Jenny Eclair, and RNA Vice-Chair, Imogen Howson

And the winners are:

The Katie Fforde Debut Romantic Novel Award

Lorna Cook, The Forgotten Village, Avon, HarperCollins


The Libertà Books Shorter Romantic Novel Award

Jenni Fletcher, Miss Amelia’s Mistletoe Marquess, Mills & Boon Historical


The Romantic Saga Award

Tania Crosse, The Street of Broken Dreams, Aria Fiction, Head of Zeus


The Romantic Comedy Novel Award

Mary Jayne Baker, A Question of Us, Aria Fiction, Head of Zeus


The Jackie Collins Romantic Thriller Award

Samantha Tonge, Knowing You, Canelo


The Fantasy Romantic Novel Award

Ruth Hogan, Queenie Malone’s Paradise Hotel, Two Roads


The Goldsboro Books Contemporary Romantic Novel Award

Sue Moorcroft, A Summer to Remember, Avon, HarperCollins


The Goldsboro Books Historical Romantic Novel Award

Natasha Lester, The French Photographer, Sphere


The Sapere Books Popular Romantic Fiction Award

Anstey Harris, The Truths and Triumphs of Grace Atherton, Simon & Schuster


Milly Johnson

Outstanding Achievement Award Winner, Milly Johnson

Outstanding Achievement Award

Milly Johnson

RNA President Katie Fforde commented, “Milly Johnson is one of those writers who reliably produces wonderful books time after time. Warm, intelligent, they make you laugh and they make you cry.  She is a star.”

Liz Fielding, of Libertà Books, said, “The authors at Libert Books read, write and love shorter romantic fiction. We are honoured to sponsor the award for a genre that gives so much pleasure and comforts so many people in the bad times, too.”

Sara-Jade Virtue, Brand Development Director (Fiction) for Simon & Schuster said of the inaugural Jackie Collins Romantic Thriller Award, “Jackie Collins was a creative force, a trailblazer for women in fiction, and, in her own words, ‘A kick-ass writer!’ We have long made a solemn commitment to ensure that her legacy endures and are incredibly proud to partner with the Romantic Novelists’ Association and launch this wonderful award to support her fellow writers.”

David Headley, M.D. of Goldsboro Books and founder of DHH Literary Agency, said, “The shortlist and winning books this year show the very best of contemporary and historical Romantic Fiction. Goldsboro Books is delighted to be partnering with the RNA once again, in the association’s Diamond Anniversary year, to sponsor these awards.”

Amy Durant from Sapere Books said, “Sapere Books is thrilled to be sponsoring the Popular Fiction Award for the second year running. Readers are at the forefront of our decision making when we sign our authors, and we are excited to be involved with a prize that champions readers’ choices.”

Huge congratulations to all the winners.