Romantic Novelists' Association

Romantic Novelists’ Association Industry Awards 2022: Shortlists Announced

11 October 2022

TUESDAY 11TH OCTOBER 2022 We are delighted to announce the shortlists for our annual Industry Awards for 2022. The awards celebrate the hard work and talent of any person, group or organisation who has championed the broad genre of romantic fiction in a positive way.

The ten categories are: The Romantic Bookseller of the Year, Inclusion Award, Indie Champion of the Year, Library or Librarian of the Year, Indie Editor of the Year, Cover Designer of the Year, Narrator of the Year, Media Star of the Year, Agent of the Year, and Publisher and / or Editor of the Year.

The awards have been held for the past eight years and are highly respected in the UK publishing industry. The finalists are nominated by the full and probationary membership of the Romantic Novelists’ Association, with a panel of independent judges selecting the shortlists.

Laura James, the RNA Industry Awards organiser, commented, ‘Of late, people have experienced difficult times, yet our authors continue to produce quality romantic fiction which enlightens, informs, and entertains. These stories reflect the strength, determination, and passion of the human spirit. They give hope and show love can heal. It is a wonderful privilege and a genuine pleasure to honour the individuals and organisations who support and promote romantic fiction and the RNA. They ensure our stories are enjoyed by readers all over the world.’

The winners of the ten awards will be announced during the Romantic Novelists’ Association’s Winter Party and Industry Awards ceremony, which is being held at the Leonardo Royal Hotel London City, 8-14 Cooper’s Row, London EC3N 2BQ, on Friday 11th November 2022 at 6.30pm.

This year’s awards are sponsored by ProWritingAid, a manuscript editing software programme with in-app video learning for writers.

Click here to purchase tickets

The categories and shortlists are as follows:

The Romantic Bookseller of the Year

Tea Leaves and Reads
Words & Kisses

Inclusion Award

Mills & Boon
Rebecca Slorach
Claire Wade

Indie Champion of the Year

Alliance of Independent Authors
Clare Flynn
Lizzie Lamb

Library or Librarian of the Year

Daren Kearl
Sharon Whitehouse

Indie Editor of the Year

Alison May
Emily Shelton Poole

Cover Designer of the Year

Lucy Murphy
JD Smith

Narrator of the Year

Anne Dover
Helen McAlpine
Susie Riddell

Media Star of the Year

Claire Fenby
Rachel Gilbey
Anne Williams

Agent of the Year

Clare Coombes
Kate Nash
Hannah Schofield

Publisher and / or Editor of the Year

Boldwood Books
Charlotte Ledger
Sara-Jade Virtue



ProWritingAid uses AI to check your writing for spelling and grammar, alongside powerful reports to help you improve readability, consistency and more. With ProWritingAid, you receive feedback tailored to your specific document type. You can use ProWritingAid for spelling, grammar and style suggestions to improve your writing, and even join our writing community to connect with other writers and participate in free events with bestselling authors. Website: