Romantic Novelists' Association

Take a Chance on Greece

Emily Kerr

One More Chapter

The Romantic Novel of the Year Awards

The Jane Wenham-Jones Award for Romantic Comedy 2023

Sponsored by Jane Wenham-Jones

When Lydia wakes after a night out in Kefalonia with a tattoo saying ‘Awesome Andreas’ she sets out to find the man who inspired her inking. But perhaps she’s looking in the wrong places, and Mr Right is closer than she realises, if only she’d take a chance on him …

Television journalist and author, Emily Kerr, who lives near Harrogate, has WON the Jane Wenham-Jones Award for Romantic Comedy category with her novel, Take a Chance on Greece, for the Romantic Novelists’ Association’s (RNA) annual Romantic Novel Awards for 2023. The awards celebrate excellence in romantic fiction in all its forms.

Emily is an author of feel-good romantic comedies and has been scribbling stories on bits of paper ever since she could write. She studied Classics at the University of Oxford, then did an MA in Broadcast Journalism. She juggles writing fiction with her day job as a television journalist based in Yorkshire. She loves travelling, and Greece in particular has a special place in her heart.

She commented, ‘I’m so honoured and delighted that Take A Chance On Greece has won the Jane Wenham-Jones Award for Romantic Comedy. I wrote the book during the pandemic when going to Greece felt like an impossible dream. It was a joy to be able to travel there in my imagination instead, and I’m so glad that the book has struck a chord with readers. It’s a real privilege to write stories which hopefully provide some feel-good escapism and put a smile on people’s faces.’